restless mind

this has happened to me a lot recently…woken up by who knows what just to lay wide awake in bed while my restless mind bounces from thought to thought.

i haven’t written in a while, and not whole lot has happened. there was a blow in the morale of my family recently with the news from my grandfather that the doctor thinks he has found cancer in his colon. many of you know just a short time ago i lost my uncle to his fight with colon cancer. i watched as he took his last breath while my parents held both of his hands and my dad held his face to his and told him how much he loved him, and that it was time to let go, and let God. it was then that he took his very last breath and i know that he was at least happy to know that we were all there by his side, because i know as strong as a fighter that he was he was scared beyond definition to finally take that last breath.

my wonderful grandfather who has been through his own battles, now has a new one on his plate. but it is amazing to hear him talk about the cancer because it proves that who you surround yourself with truly can change your attitude and views. he and i sat on the porch of my parents home just chit chatting and he told me “branden, i don’t have cancer, i just know i don’t”. my heart sank, because chances are he does. but, his head is held high, and it looks like i now know where my uncle got his fighting spirit, from his father.

another strong man in my life, is my own father. who has seemed to be the caretaker the past few years with the death of his mother and his youngest brother. now dealing with what might be a very difficult road ahead with his father, i can see it in his eyes that he is tired, worn out, feeling defeated, but knows he can’t show his true emotions, because the moment he loses strength is the moment those around him that need him, will begin to lose hope. and without hope, we lose.

this month is breast cancer awareness month, but it should just be cancer awareness every month. for those of you who have fought an won the battle over cancer, or those of you who are still fighting or if you know someone who has overcome or is fighting, stand strong, don’t lose hope, and focus on what is truly important in life, God, family, and friends. those 3 crucial things will be the rock that you will need to fight and win your battle.

and remember, keep looking up, cause thats where it all is.

branden

 

 

About brandenguy

I am 27 living in San Antonio. I am the graphic designer for the JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa. I value my family, my friends, and my relationship with God. I don't believe in religion, I believe in a relationship. No one tells me how to worship God, except the Living Word of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment